Well I am not convicted that this first assignment is too bad – in fact I think it can be a bit of fun.

Yesterday I set out on part of my own Learning Excursion to have a go a a sporting experience. A three hour coaching clinic with surf ski legend Oscar Chalupsky.

20140317-111559.jpg

So three hours on hearing the great man talk about building technique and his philosophy of down wind paddling.

So what did I think – brilliant, worth every cent. He had us doing simple drills that highlighted the mechanics of paddling and showcased the advantage of proper technique.

20140317-112031.jpg

Here I am in ‘waist deep’ water (I am the old bloke at the back) trying to experience the power of a wing paddle when used properly.

20140317-112357.jpg

And yes the high vis cap was a piece of signed memorabilia ( had to get some theory in there somewhere 😉)

So I had fun – learnt something ( so yes transformational) and now have a heap of things to go away and practice. Hope some of your experiences turn out as well.

20140317-112805.jpg

And a big thanks to Mark at Expedition Kayaks for the photos and organising the session.

